Celebrating Our U. S. Presidents

There is an ongoing debate as to whether Virginia or Ohio gave birth to more U.S. presidents, with both states laying claim to 8.

According to the Ohio Statehouse museum website:

"Mother of Presidents" is sometimes used to refer to Ohio. Seven United States Presidents were born in Ohio. They are Ulysses S. Grant (Point Pleasant), Rutherford Birchard Hayes (Delaware), James Abram Garfield (Orange Township - now Moreland Hills, Ohio), Benjamin Harrison (North Bend), William McKinley (Niles), William Howard Taft (Cincinnati), and Warren Gamaliel Harding (Corsica, now Blooming Grove). William Henry Harrison, born in Virginia but settled in Ohio, is also claimed as an Ohio president.”

This year also marks the 200th birthday of Ohio President Ulysses S. Grant.  There are celebrations planned throughout the year, beginning with the kickoff program, Grant, The Civil Rights General & President, hosted at the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, on February 17, 2022.  If you are interested in more information about the various state-wide Grant Bicentennial events, please check out the Ulysses S. Grant Bicentennial, 1822-2022 or Ohio History Connection websites.

In addition to Ohio’s claim on the number of U.S. Presidents, the legal community can also claim a number of U.S. Presidents, who either worked as lawyers or studied to be lawyers before becoming President.

These include:

John Adams (1797-1801)

Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809)

James Monroe (1817-1825)

John Quincy Adams (1825-1829)

Andrew Jackson (1829-1837)

Martin Van Buren (1837-1841)

John Tyler (1841-1845)

James Knox Polk (1845-1849)

Millard Fillmore (1850-1853)

Franklin Pierce (1853-1857)

James Buchanan (1857-1861)

Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865)

Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881)

James A. Garfield (1881)

Chester A. Arthur (1881-1885)

Grover Cleveland (1885-1889 and 1893-1897)

Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893)

William McKinley (1897-1901)

William Howard Taft (1909-1913)

Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921)

Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929)

Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1933-1945)

Richard M. Nixon (1969-1974)

Gerald R. Ford (1974-1977)

William Jefferson Clinton (1993-2001)

Barack Obama (2009-2017)

Joseph Biden (2021-)

If you are interested in learning more about any of our 46 Presidents, as a subscriber to the HCLL, you have access to the HeinOnline U.S. Presidents Library, which has countless articles, books, and documents written by or related to our U.S. Presidents.

Please feel free to contact us by email, or at 513-946-5300.









Presidents Who Were Lawyers